• I am a painter who dyes tyvek, hdpe, high density polyethylene. Have been using idye poly. How to make it colorfast? Any ideas? Have added salt and i also varnish work with Golden uvs. Still fades. Suggestions?
  • This is a very interesting problem, and you are not the first to encounter it. Tyvek is especially difficult to dye and tends to reject most water based systems. Most folks I've talked to recommend solvent-soluble dyes for tyvek. These folks are mostly digital printers; you are the first painter I've encountered working on tyvek... I wonder if you could tell me: are you brushing on dyes or doing a submersion process? Solid colors, or are you making paintings?
    In terms of solvents, I think alcohol is be the solvent of choice. Jacquard makes a line of colors called Pinata that are alcohol based (http://jacquardproducts.com/pinata-alcohol-ink.html). Pinata Colors contain a resin that will stick to just about anything. I would recommend Pinata Colors for your tyvek; they will be much more colorfast and permanent (although certain colors fade more than others), and they are designed for brush painting. If you are trying to do a submersion dye, let me know and I'll try to figure something else out for you... If you decide to go the Pinata rout, I'd be curious to know how the inks work out for you... Please be touch!
    Best,
    Asher
  • Hi Leafeinstein, Asher, and anyone else who could help please. I appreciate this is an old post, hopefully by now there is more Tyvek knowhow four years later?

Having looked at the Pinata Colors, in particular the 031 Mantilla Black, exactly how would I use that on Tyvek i.e. one coat, or two coats with 031 Mantilla Black, or one coat a base color (if so which) then one coat 031 Mantilla Black?

It'd be great to get a durable black finish, but even if its more a charcoal color that'd be cool too.

Thanks in advance.